more from
Heavy Machinery Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Gap Tooth

by Jaala

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 AUD  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Deluxe 12" black vinyl featuring cover art by Cosima Jaala.
    ***Please note this release has been impacted with significant delays due to Covid, we appreciate your patience. You will receive a notification once the LP lands at the warehouse and is shipped out to you. Thank you for your patience. Please email if you have any further questions*****

    Includes unlimited streaming of Gap Tooth via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $30 AUD or more 


All Here 05:16
Workhorse 05:30
Been Bad 04:00
Funny Shapes 04:14
Which Way 04:54
Catterpil 05:35


Heavy Machinery Records is proud to present 'Gap Tooth' the sensational new album from Melbourne art prog innovators Jaala.

Known for their off-kilter art rock, Melbourne three-piece Jaala is fronted by the enigmatic Cosima Jaala, who delivers bold and plaintive vocals with jaggedly syncopated guitar lines, alongside textural and elastic rhythms prodigiously executed by drummer Maria Moles and otherworldly synth palettes generated by electronic artist Fia Fiell.

Gap Tooth, the band’s first album in its current three-piece formation, is a departure from their previous output, trading the raw urgency of the earlier records for a melting and celestial surreality.

Gap Tooth is Jaala in slow-motion, from the tender assurances of opener All Here into the sweet dysphoric disdain of Fuck To The Radio - syrup-haze guitar and synth coil into the songs like uncanny ivy. Beating-heart, warm low-end waves of Workhorse mushroom into cloudy, soft-focus lulls and playfully misanthropic sun-flares as the album wades toward the soulful swagger of Which Way. Gap Tooth pulses and flashes languorously before resolving into the giant, blooming crescendo of I Love You (DJ Set) and its delicate, fugue-clarity afterglow, Catterpil.

This incredible achievement flows with unpredictable dream-logic, never settling on discernible pop hooks or traditional verse/chorus song structures. Merging experimental folk, dream pop, a disposition for the baroque, and self-professed ‘slag-country’, the album finds humour and hope in the disorientation of time passing and leaving youth behind.


released November 5, 2021

Drums — Maria Moles
Synths, Piano, Violin —Carolyn Schofield
Guitar, Vocals — Cosima Jaala
Bass Guitar (2, 4, 5) — Asha Trips
Angelic Vocals ( 8 ) — Hannah Macklin

All songs written by Jaala
Produced by Nick Herrera and Jaala
Engineered and mixed by Nick Herrera at The Grove Studios
Mastered by David Walker at Stepford Audio Melbourne

Piano on Which Way and Funny Shapes recorded by Rohan Goldsmith
Additional Guitar production on Workhorse by Angus Leslie
Additional vocal production on Workhorse and Been Bad by Matthew Kelly
Vocals auto-recorded in Old Boy Doug Boys garden studio, Matts studio and Fallback Studios

Photos by Wilk
Drawings by Cosi
Cyanotype by Cosi & Wilk

Series curated and produced by Miles Brown
Project coordination by Annalee Koernig
Design production by Luke Fraser at Grin Creative

All tracks © Jaala 2021



all rights reserved



Jaala Melbourne, Australia

contact / help

Contact Jaala

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Jaala, you may also like: